Board of Management

Introduction and Overview of the Role of the Board of Management

Boards of Management of primary schools are appointed for a four year term.

The Board manages the school on behalf of the Patron and is accountable to the Patron and the Minister. The Board must uphold the characteristic spirit (ethos) of the school and is accountable to the Patron for so doing. The principal is responsible for the day to day management of the school, including guidance and direction of the teachers and other staff of the school, and is accountable to the Board for that management.

All Boards of Management of primary schools assuming office from 1st December 2011 onwards are required to adhere to the provisions of the Constitution of Boards and Rules of Procedure 2011. It is acknowledged that the most effective Boards also have a clear understanding of their role and responsibilities and ensure that these are fulfilled.

The Board should adopt a child-centred approach to all of its work. It must also have regard to the efficient use of resources (particularly the grants provided by the state), the public interest in the affairs of the school and accountability to students, parents and the community. It is important that from the outset, the Board considers its role and responsibilities and identifies the key activities and priorities that it will address during its term of office.

Board of Management in Carrickleck N.S.

The Boards of Management of primary schools have been in existence since 1975. The Board consists of 8 members namely;
2 nominees of the Patron, 2 community representatives, 2 parent representatives, the principal teacher and mainstream class teacher.

Our current Board :

  • Patron’s Nominees: Roisin Hughes (Chairperson) and Eamonn Shields
  • Community Representatives: Veronica Sherlock (Treasurer) and Donal Kelly
  • Parent Representatives: Noeleen Dimbylow and Keith Ginnitty
  • Teachers: Jackie Ward (Secretary) and Aine McEnneaney